New Logo ideas for new business

8 02 2014

Hello all.

I am in need of a favour. I am setting up a new business called EcoWild garden & landscape design. It is in the early stages and I am trying to sort out a logo for the business.

This is where you come in! Below are 8 different logo ideas, and at the bottom of this post is a poll. I would appreciate if you could have a look over the logos and cast a vote to your favourite one.

If you can not decide between 2, then vote for them both. If you like bits of one and bits of another then please leave a comment to let me know.

PLEASE NOTE: Do not take notice of the colour at the moment. Everything is black & white as I have not finalised colours and just want to decide a logo design for now.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me out. If you could share it with others so I can get a wide cast of votes, that would be great.

Logo 1

Logo 1

Logo 2

Logo 2

Logo 3

Logo 3

Logo 4

Logo 4

Logo 5

Logo 5

Logo 6

Logo 6

Logo 7

Logo 7

Logo 8

Logo 8

Actions

Information

21 responses

8 02 2014
The Editors of Garden Variety

Wishing you luck with your new business.

8 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Thank you very much! I will be posting updates of my progress, so keep an eye out!

8 02 2014
Victoria Wade

Number 7 is nice and simple, but maybe align the bottom text with the top text (eg making ‘Eco wild’ bigger) Are you definitely using that font? Xxx

8 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

oo I like your thinking! Font isn’t decided yet. I’ve got a meeting with a web guy next week, so will be sorting that out with him then, to ensure web friendly stuff!

8 02 2014
Victoria Wade

Good shout! πŸ™‚ exciting times!! Xxx

10 02 2014
10 02 2014
Peter Scrimshaw

Hi Micheal, I like Logo2 (with the tree), but think you should shift the EcoWild text across to the right, so the E doesn’t hit the tree! Perhaps the leaves could be smaller, or make then more leave shaped? Just my thoughts! Good luck with it, Peter

10 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to have a look and giving your input! I think once i’ve got an idea of what logo people like I will have a sit down an draw up a few different versions, so thank you for your ideas.

10 02 2014
lottielandgirl

I love simplistic typography when I create logos πŸ™‚ a lovely selection, no.7 is my fav – good luck!

11 02 2014
Alia Khan

I like 1 best, maybe if the grass was taller and the wording was sat within it so it looks ‘wild’ (maybe even some faded insects flying around??) I just think that the logos with some kind of imagery have more of a character and will stand out from all the standard logos. Muted shades of greens and greys also look good. You need a logo that matches the name of the company, create an identity!

Ps- exciting stuff! wishing you the best of luck and look forward to watching you grow πŸ™‚

13 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Hello Alia! Hope all is well with you. Thanks for taking the time to have a look. I’m with you on the imagery. I like the idea of having a logo that people associate with my business straight away. Once i’ve got a favourite that people have voted for I’m going to sit down and adapt it, so your comments will come in very handy!

13 02 2014
Phil Stovell

Hi Michael – I hope you don’t mind a bit of constructive feedback. I am a Garden Designer from a Graphic Design background and could not help but notice your plea for help here. None of the logo options (for me) shout the ‘Eco’ part of your brand effectively. You need a shape or symbol that supports the ‘Eco’ text that can be recognised when it is not with the wording. Colours are just as important in branding and should be considered when designing a logo from the start as well as “does it work in black & white”? The idea of using a symbol from nature is good but has been used a lot. When starting a business, it’s always beneficial to have something unique or stands out from your competitors. Sorry if this all sounds like I am being negative, I would just like to see you do well. Phil

13 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Hi Phil,
Not at all negative, just helpful! Thank you for taking the time to have a look and give feedback. I definitely see what you mean, and want that logo where people relate the image to my company without the need for words. As for colours, you are right they are just as important. I did only us black & white here so people were just concentrating on the image, but I plan to have a play with my colour scheme. The nature part is always difficult as I want something unique, but I also want average joe bob to relate it to “nature” without having to think. At the moment logo 2 which is the one with the tree and circular leaves is the most popular, so I might look to adapt that. Also while I’m able to ask, what do you think to the idea of the other extreme and concentrating just on the text? As “ecowild” garden design suggests an Eco approach to design, and when I google it no other business comes up except an animal park in Spain! Or is it stronger to have an image?
Thanks
Michael

13 02 2014
Ellen Burke (@GrowCity)

I like #1 except that the words on top of the grass are illegible. The long grass in that logo says eco and wild to me – a bit of a loose aesthetic, the use of grasses that don’t need constant mowing etc. But I agree with others that the font isn’t the best. All the others seem a bit typical. Logo design is hard!! Maybe a local graphic designer will trade landscape advice for a logo? Also if you are going to have a facebook or twitter account you want a logo that can also be formatted as a square, since that is what the options are there.

16 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Hi Ellen, Thank you for taking the time to have a look and comment! I promise you that the current font is not my final one! I just used a basic one for now while I’m getting a feel for what style of logo people are liking more, and now I have got that I am just in conversation with a logo designer to draw something up for me. My design skills of gardens can only take me so far!

14 02 2014
Phil Stovell

For me Logo 2 is a no as the leaves currently look like balloons. I think a good font can work really well as long as it’s not too trendy as this will have a short shelf life. Perhaps a clean font with a tweak in the direction of Eco? Just an idea here but have you tried WIX for building your website? I did my own using WIX – http://www.philstovell.co.uk – Hope all goes well. Phil

16 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Thank you for getting back to me Phil. I like the set up of your website, has a sense of a story/journey to it, which makes it very inviting. Luckily I have a friend in the business to help me out on the website side of it, but I will check out Wix. I’m just in conversation with a graphic designer now, as my design skills of landscape can only take me so far in the design world!

14 02 2014
Amanda Driscoll

I liked 2 as is, however, I liked the grasses in 1. The problem with 1 though is thinking about reproduction on marketing materials, it makes the bottom unreadable, so, I would say 5 or 7 with the image being the grasses from 1. Good luck!

16 02 2014
EcoWild Garden & Landscape Design

Hi Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to have a look and comment! Logo 1 has indeed come out on top in the votes, so i’m now sitting down with a graphics and website designer to make it logo and internet friendly, so fingers crossed it will work!

20 02 2014
AnnaEllen K

Hi Michael,

I like number 1. The feeling of moving in the high grass makes me think of nature, a litte bit wild, and not to taimed πŸ™‚ But i would recommend you to put the “Garden & landscape design” text under the grassline and also lower the Eco Wild text just a little bit. And use a lot of colours πŸ™‚ Best of luck!

20 02 2014
Marina (@mworegon)

I like No 1 and 4 becuase they have graphic images related to the landscape, though No 4’s balloon canopy could maybe look a bit more realistic to a canopy. I see where you’re going with the balloon shaped trees though, simple and abstract. However, I agree with a comment made earlier about the ‘Eco’ part. I think you may want to define what Eco means for your company profile first. I live in the PNW and eco has more of a rugged and untouched co-notation. But it can mean so much more. Once you have found out what Eco means for you, you should try to convey that in your logo if it is an important element in your business profile. No 1 seems to shout, I transform your garned into something you don’t have to maintain and it may resemble wild, left alone prairie. If that is what your going for, I like it. The font needs to have a white outline or the grass needs to be way lighter, as for reproduction all this will turn black after a few copying cycles. If eco means environmentally friendly but deisgned, I could see logo No 5 that may fit. In 5 I like that you used the space and the image will not overwhelm your company name. My 2 cents. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

